Just Finished a Major Football Card Project!!!

CamaroDMD

Insert Cool Title
So, a couple weeks back...I completed a major card project I had been working on for several years. It is a very sentimental project that started out as a dream when I was a child and was ultimately completed as a young adult.

Before I get too far into the project, I thought I would tell you the story as to why this set was sentimental.

When I was in the 4th and 5th (1994 and 1995), my school mates and I played flag football on our school team. A few days each week, we would walk down to the park a few blocks away where we would have practice led by a couple volunteer parents. I think school ended around 2:40 and practice ran 3:30-5:00 or something like that.

Anyway, we always had a few minutes to kill...so many of us would stop at the local convenience store on the way and spend a couple dollars. Normally, we would buy a pack of cards and a couple "Laffy Taffys" as a snack. We'd then head to the park, open our packs, and trade.

The little convenience store was very limited as to the cards they had...they normally had Upper Deck and the newer Upper Deck Collector's Choice product. We normally bought Collector's Choice (UDCC) because it was less expensive. I remember both years...they had boxes of 1994 UDCC football cards for sale.

So, we'd open our packs. I seem to remember a pack contained about a dozen cards...including one parallel card. The 384 base set had two parallel sets, silver and gold. The silver cards were 1 per pack but the golds were 1 per 35 packs (instead of a silver). As you can imagine, we treasured the golds on the rare occasion one appeared, I don't remember anyone ever trading one of those. The silver and gold cards differed from the base only by having the team name printed in foil print on the front of the card in either silver or gold (many of the golds also have a gold boarder).