Baseball An ignorant question.

SloganVZ

Bench Warmer
You guys probably get this alot but I was just given appox. 18,000 sports cards. 90% are baseball. the other 10% is Football and Baskteball. I just have no idea even where to start. I'm a college student and don't have the time or drive to sort and all that stuff. From what I have seen the years range from 1979 to 2006. I can't tell if what is written on some of the boxs is true. For instance one box says 550 cards 500 @ $0.40 and 50 @ $0.10 equaling $205. I looked in the box and the 500 are Topps Finest 1999 with some crazy protector plastic things on them. very shiny. Where do I start? are there collectors out there that buy lots of cards like this from people or am I stuck with 18,000 cards? What would be a fair price? Even at like 3.5 cents apiece thats like $600.

Thank you
Someone
that was just thrown into the mystifying world of collector sports cards

For a couple years, Finest issued all cards with protectors on them. Some debate whether to keep them on or not. I would let the person your trading/selling to decide that. It really shouldn't take you that long to flip through them and pull out at least the rookies. If you can see they are a bunch of base cards, even big names, I would donate them to a children's hospital, after I went through and looked for inserts and rookies.

SloganVZ said: