2012 NHL HOF Induction class? My guesses in Bold


Bench Warmer
The annual meeting of the Selection Committee will be held in Toronto on June 26 to select and announce the 2012 inductees. The 2012 Induction Weekend festivities will run from Friday, November 9th through Sunday, November 11th, 2012 culminating with the Induction Celebration on Monday, November 12th, 2012.

First year eligibles:

Curtis Joseph
Olaf Kolzig
Philippe Boucher
Patrice Brisebois
Keith Carney
Greg de Vries
Martin Gelinas
Chris Gratton
Bret Hedican
Sean Hill
Bobby Holik
Darius Kasparaitis
Ken Klee
Claude Lemieux
Teppo Numminen
Michael Peca
Luke Richardson
Gary Roberts
Jeremy Roenick
Joe Sakic
Brendan Shanahan
Mike Sillinger
Jason Smith
Mats Sundin

Tony Amonte
Dave Andreychuk
Ralph Backstrom
Brian Bellows
Peter Bondra
Pavel Bure
V. Damphousse
Ray Ferraro
Alexei Gusarov
Larry Hillman
Phil Housley
Dale Hunter
Tomas Jonsson
Valeri Kamensky
Steve Larmer
John LeClair
Eric Lindros
Hakan Loob
Kevin Lowe
John MacLean
Rick Middleton
Alexander Mogilny
Mats Naslund
Bernie Nichols
Adam Oates
John Ogrodnick
Brian Propp
Claude Provost
Stephane Richer
Bobby Smith
Brent Sutter
Jean-Guy Talbot
Dave Taylor
Steve Thomas
Rick Tocchet
Pierre Turgeon
Garry Unger
Rick Vaive
Pat Verbeek

Tom Barrasso
Don Beaupre
Dan Bouchard
Sean Burke
Lorne Chabot
Ron Hextall
Kelly Hrudey
Dave Kerr
Mike Liut
Andy Moog
Gilles Meloche
Felix Potvin
Mike Richter
John Ross Roach
Rogie Vachon
John Vanbiesbrouk
Mike Vernon

The following list includes eligible players who have registered
at least 100 points in Senior World Championship play.

Boris Mikhailov
Alexander Maltsev
Vladimir Petrov
Sven Johansson
Sergei Makarov
Vladimir Martinec
Ven. Alexandrov
Jiri Holik
Anatoli Firsov
I would have no problem seeing him in the hall but not before Oates. He is a the only non active player in the top 16 in scoring besides Sakic not in the hall.

Do not understand how Mark Howe got in last year.
I think that Roenick also deserves serious consideration.

One of the beefs I have with the HHOF is the requirement for one "vintage" player to be inducted each year.

This usually seems to result in one journeyman getting in each year.

I am known as someone who appreciates the "Old School" players, but guys like Fern Flamin, Marcel Pronovost & Dick Duff were good players, but NOT Hall-of-Famers.

I also don't think there should be a cap on the number of players each year. Why should Pavel Bure, Adam oates and Alexander Mogilny have to wait just because there are other great players in their "year"?

Just my opinion. But of course, I could be wrong!